top of page

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
for KENTUCKY ONLINE COURSES

GENERAL CLASS QUESTIONS

01

How do I start the class? Then what?

When you click a "Start Instantly" or "Register Now" button, you will go directly to a sign-up page. After you enter your name, email and password you will be directed to the payment page where you can pay for the class with any major credit or debit card. You will then go directly to your student dashboard where you can start the class any time.

02

How does the class work?

The course is a series of videos on important driver safety topics. Each safety topic, for example Impaired Driving, is divided into short videos lessons. After you watch the first video, you will then have access to the second video. In other words, you have to take each lesson in order. When you pass that section's quiz, you can move on to the next section.

03

Is there a test? How does it work?

Yes, there will be 3-question quizzes after most Sections of the class, which you can re-take until you score 100%.  The final test is 30 questions, and you need at least an 80% to pass (or 24 of 30 correct).  You can also re-take the test until you pass it. Pay attention to the videos and especially the “KY badges and graphics” that appear.  This important information is often what you will see on the quizzes and final test. 

04

Do I have to take the class all at once?

No! Once you purchase the class you can take it any time, at your own pace. For example, you can purchase the class on Monday, start it on Tuesday and finish it on Wednesday. Just make sure you complete it before it expires.

05

How long is the class?

The class is 4-hours of video content plus the time to take the quizzes and video. This timing is determined by Kentucky Statute.

KENTUCKY STATE TRAFFIC SCHOOL QUESTIONS

01

How do I qualify for State Traffic School.

You must first be referred to State Traffic School by your court. The Division of Driver Licensing will then send you a referral letter with instructions to register for our course. You must have this letter before you sign up for our State Traffic School course.

02

I didn't get a referral letter from the state. What do I do?

If you believe you should have received a letter from the Kentucky Division of Driver Licensing, but have not, email them at [email protected]. Be sure to include your name and driver license number so they can access your driver record. Some courts refer to the County Attorney traffic school program and we are not the County Attorney's traffic school.

03

Do you send my information to the KY Division of Driver Licensing?

Yes! We send your completion record to the state the next day. Allow two full business days for the Division of Driver Licensing to update your driving record. If you would like to confirm with the state that your record has been updated, you can email them at [email protected]. Be sure to include your driver license number and name so they can look up your record.

04

How does the state update my record?

The Division of Driver Licensing uses the information that you enter in the Registration lesson to find you in their database. It's very important that you enter accurate information, especially your driver license number which starts with the first initial of your last name.  You will also need to enter your name as it appears on your driver's license. 

05

How long do I have to take the Traffic School course?

Kentucky gives you 30 days from the date of your letter to complete the course. If you don't finish by then, your license will be suspended. Our class expires 30 days from the date you paid for the course. If you don't complete the class within those 30 days, we delete your record and you will be required to sign up, pay for the class again, and start from the beginning. These are the state's rules, not ours.

GRADUATED LICENSING QUESTIONS

01

When can I take the Graduated Licensing Course

You can take the class as soon as you have your permit. But make sure you do have your permit because the Division of Driver Licensing uses your license number to update your driving record with your completion. If you have any questions about the process to get your license, click here to go to the drive.ky.gov website.

02

Do you send my information to the KY Division of Driver Licensing?

Yes! We send your completion record to the state the next day. Allow two full business days for the Division of Driver Licensing to update your driving record. If you are taking the Graduated Licensing course right before you go to a Regional Office to get your unrestricted license, you should wait a couple of business days, otherwise they may not see your completion on your record. If you would like to confirm with the state that your record has been updated, you can email them at [email protected]. Be sure to include your driver license number and name so they can look up your record.

03

How does the state update my record?

The Division of Driver Licensing uses the information that you enter in the Registration lesson to find you in their database. It's very important that you enter accurate information, especially your driver license number which starts with the first initial of your last name.  You will also need to enter your name as it appears on your driver's license. 

04

How long do I have to take the Graduated Licensing course?

You have 365 days to take the class. But we know it won't take you that long, right?

05

Will you mail my license to me?

No. Once we report your completion to the Division of Driver Licensing our job is done. If you meet all of the requirements to get an unrestricted license, you can make an appointment at a Regional Licensing Office to get your license. Click here for a link to schedule the appointment. If you are unsure what your driving status is, you can email the Division of Driver Licensing at [email protected].

55+ MATURE DRIVER QUESTIONS

01

Is the RightLane 55+ class certified by the Commonwealth of Kentucky?

Yes! On March 12, 2024 we received certification from the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet to offer the 55+ Mature Driver Safety Course. 

02

How long do I have to take the class?

Your registration is good for 60 days. If you need more time, please contact us at [email protected].

03

How do I get my Certificate of Completion?

As soon as you pass the Final Test, you will be instructed to download your certificate from your Dashboard. The certificate is ready immediately upon completion. 

04

Do you report my completion to the insurance company or the state of Kentucky?

No. It is your responsibility to provide the Certificate to your insurance company. We also will not report your completion to the state.

05

Is there a test? Or quizzes?

Yes, there are simple, 4 question quizzes throughout the class and you need a 75% to pass. You can retake each quiz until you score a 75%. The final test is 20 questions, and again you need a 75% to pass and can also retake it until you pass. Pay attention to the videos and especially the “KY badges and graphics” that appear.  This important information is often what you will see on the quizzes and final test. 

bottom of page